2 Comments

Giants of Barcelona

barcelona giants

Going through large wooden doors about three times the height of a human, into the same building that housed the Chinese photography exhibit, wandering toward the back, I saw behind glass the three tall figures above. I did not know at the time but these were a few of what are known as the Barcelona Giants and they are brought out for La Merce, a parade held in September and in honour of the patron saint of Barcelona. I took a few pictures. At this time, my girlfriend and I were just checking on how long the exhibit was on and decided to come back later.

giantessbarcelona eaglegiant

When we actually came to see the photographs, I went back to take another look and this is what I saw.

more barcelona giants

How bizarre. I had the feeling that if I kept returning, each time there would be more, and eventually they would be so deeply crowded in there all you would see is swatches of cloth against the glass.

I don’t know why but I do like the large statues. Or actually any things that are larger than they are meant to be. Not that I cannot appreciate unusually small things like this nifty little microwave here.

small microwave

Its about the size of a box of Kleenex. But in general I do like the large.

Below is what at the time of its completion was the tallest free standing statue in the world at about 85 meters. It still stands in Volgograd.

mother russia

2 comments on “Giants of Barcelona

  1. […] Giants of BarcelonaI did not know at the time but these were a few of what are known as the Barcelona Giants and they are brought out for La Merce, a parade held in September and in honour of the patron saint of Barcelona. I took a few pictures. … […]

  2. is this “not” the tallest statue any longer?

Leave a Reply

