2 Comments

A bad three dog night

Migoto, the resident dog.

Dogsitting again.

The first night was as close to dog hell as I wish to come. Of course, the first night with dogs in a strange place, whether a new puppy or a new dog is often a trial. The dropoff went off fine but later that night tensions grew between my resident queen of the house, a very alpha female, and the visiting male, also quite alpha.

Visiting dog #1, Plato, male and alpha.

Often these encounters are decided fairly quickly but the problem here was that though Plato did seem to accept being second, every now and then would challenge for the crown.

The third dog was an older female and would side with whoever seemed to be coming out on top.

Dakota: visiting dog #2.

But the jostling, though a little worrisome was not the cause of the night from hell. First of all, I had been going through a few days of very little sleep. This night what I discovered was that the male was insanely vigilant and would bark to beat the band at every motion outside. I closed the blinds but then the sounds would set him off. So I decided the only thing to do was to lock both the visitors in with me in my bedroom.

There was the incessant pacing, as well as a bit of my own uncertainty not knowing if the pacing might indicate the desire to void bowels, but what really made the night complete were the dog farts.

No doubt all have smelled bad dog farts. My own dog hardly seems to do this but has on occasion made an impression. But I found out that night that she had plenty to learn in that department. This may have had something to do with their special food, which was uncommonly free of additives and preservatives, and was absurdly foul smelling even through the plastic container.

I think I ended up with about two hours of sleep with most of my waking spent trying to stuff my quilt up my nostrils and into my mouth to avoid the stench. Of course, I could not open my window because then the one would start barking at the night.

Happy ending though; the next night was clear and easy. No barking at the sounds, dogs sleeping through the night, and quietly farting some distance from me.

2 comments on “A bad three dog night

  1. Intriguing posts. I bookmarked your site. I’m looking for other blogs that have an audience that would find value from a popular blog I maintain on akita dogs. Let me know if you would like to exchange some posts or content. I think we could both get value.

  2. Hello there! I have looked over a lot of your blog posts and noticed that they are all appear to be original and unique. Most blog owners these days do not take the time to write their own articles anymore and instead steal articles from other blogs or websites. This does not benefit anybody and as a blog owner myself I am wantin to do something about it. I asure you that this message is not spam. I have contacted many blog owers just like you and I have take the time to write each message personally. I would like you to visit my site http://www.PetPedigreeDatabase.com/ .. You will see that just like you, I take the time to write all my own articles on my blogs and am running a successful forum. The reason that I am taking your time today is because I would like your involvement in protecting yourself and your content from being taken by other blog owner that will try to reuse and recycle your content. I want to encourage you to lock your content. If you have any questions or trouble you can contact me and I will guide you in the right direction. Thank you for taking the time to read this message.

Leave a Reply

