Leave a comment

Back from Virginia, music, my new camera

I’ve been gone for a few days; just back from a conference in Virginia but what a few days.

Just before I left walking in my city valley I saw a couple of ducks and managed to capture them on film before my dog went after them.

Mallards in the creek

The next day I was on a series of flights taking me to Willamsburg and one great regret is not having my camera handy on the arrival since coming in I was presented with the most remarkable sight of lush green forests and vast waters just as the sun was setting against an island of cloud cover from high up. I did take a few pictures on the ground and most I was not happy with but the following came out of either a malfunction or my own misreading of settings.

James River off Williamsburg resort

I will be back to blogging on the Liverpool experience but am somewhat distracted by my recent acquisitions (the latest and incomparable cds by The National and the Black Keys, and the reissue of Exile on Main Street, and also the latest Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings).

And then my new camera viewfinder came in so I could play with my new Olympus with the fun pop art setting:

pop art setting and my favourite coffee mug


My favourite mug now with the pinhole setting


The mug with the sepia setting

And I am watching Guy Madden’s Brand on the Brain: another masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

